Skip to content

Food at the Wilkinsons’

July 16, 2009

A classmate of mine from Regent College, Rosie Perera, recently published a piece in response to a theology of food class she took this past June in Regent’s Summer School program. (She wrote more details about the class on her blog.) The class was held on Galiano Island, off the coast of British Columbia, where Loren and Mary Ruth Wilkinson live.

When I was in graduate school, one of the most influential things I did was to visit Wilkinson’s home with my community group for a weekend. There, we participated in meal preparation, clean up, and various chores. (Justin burnt a large pile of brush and I winnowed grain.) One of the things that struck me the most were the lines of pegs around the doorway between the kitchen/dining room and living room. When I asked what they were for, I learned that they were for our napkin rings. We each had cloth napkins of various prints and colors, and after meals, we’d stick our napkin ring (and napkin) on a peg to use at the next meal.

I’m really excited to see that Regent has considered this a valuable enough topic to offer courses on it! Now, what was I thinking when I decided not to register for that class?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

