Skip to content

Radish Tea Sandwiches

July 31, 2009
Radish-Chive Tea Sandwiches

I remember the first bunch of radishes I ever purchased. It was in 2001 and Justin and I were going to make Thai food for some family members.

I used some of the radishes for a salad, but didn’t know what to do with the rest, so I pickled them. (I’ll provide the pickled radish recipe tomorrow.)

As members of a CSA, we receive regular batches of radishes and I’m still learning how to like them. This week, I tried a delicious recipe I thought you may enjoy. It’s very very easy.

Radish-Chive Tea Sandwiches with Sesame and Ginger

1/4 C. butter, room temperature

3 T. minced chives, divided

1 T. toasted sesame seeds (I use brown, unhulled sesame seeds.)

3/4 t. grated peeled fresh ginger

1/4 t. Asian (dark) sesame oil

16 1/4-inch baguette slices (I use a multigrain variety.)

10 radishes, thinly sliced.

fleur de sel or sel gris (gray salt), optional

Mix butter, 2 T. chives, sesame seeds, ginger, and oil in a small bowl; season with salt and pepper. Spread butter mixture over each bread slice. Top with radishes, overlapping slightly. Sprinkle with remaining chives and fleur de sel, if desired.

Leave a Reply

