Skip to content

Bean Tacos with Cabbage Slaw

August 15, 2009

I love cabbage, I really do.

But we get so much of it from our CSA, sometimes even cabbage-lover me begins to feel overwhelmed by all these purple and green heads in the refrigerator that stare at me, asking me when I’m going to use them, feeling hurt if I wait several weeks.

One of my favorite ways to eat raw cabbage is on tacos–especially fish and vegetarian tacos. Here’s a great recipe I tried last night. It was easy and wonderful. My only complaint? It didn’t use enough cabbage.

Bean Tacos with Cabbage Slaw

1 can beans (pino or black beans work well) OR 3/4 C. dried beans, soaked in boiling water, and cooked on the stove until tender. (I used Michigan-grown yellow-eyed peas.)

1/2 t. ground cumin

5 t. oilve oil, divided, plus more

1 T. fresh lime juice

2 C. finely chopped cabbage, red or purple

2 green onions, chopped

1/3 C. chopped fresh cilantro, or other fresh herb (I made the unconventional choice of using fresh basil since we have so much. It worked.)

white or yellow corn tortillas

1/3 C. crumbled feta cheese

hot sauce

Place cooked, drained beans, cumin, and 2 t. oil in a small bowl. Mash.

Mix 2 t. oil and lime juice in a medium bowl. Add cabbage, onions, and herbs. Toss. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Heat remaining oil in a large skilled (cast-iron, preferably) over medium-high heat. Add 2 tortillas in a single layer. Spoon some bean mixture onto half of each tortilla. Cook 1 minute. Fold tacos in half. Cook until golden brown, about 1 minute per side. Continue with remaining tacos until the bean mixture is used up. Fill with feta and slaw. Pass hot sauce alongside.

Fine another recipe to use up the rest of your cabbage.

Leave a Reply

