Skip to content

Broccoli and Kindness

August 20, 2009

Today, I picked up my copy of Sallie Tisdale’s The Best Thing I Ever Tasted. I need to re-read this book. I liked it in 2004, when I first read it, and I think even more of it would resonate with me today.

Here’s a quote I’d like to share:

“I believe in the value of cruciferous vegetables like broccoli and brussel sprouts, but I believe more in the intelligence of the body and the inevitability of decay. I wonder why we talk so much about omega-3 fatty acids and beta-carotene and so little about anxiety and deprivation, kindness and joy, about the long-term effects of the day-to-day struggle to be recognized and loved.”

Yes. Yes. Yes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

