Skip to content

Grand Rapids Food Blogs Feature

August 26, 2009

Last week, my friend Amy Ruis, owner of Art of the Table, wrote a piece for Rapid Press Media about local Grand Rapids food blogs. Mine was featured! Yes, this one, the one you’re reading now. Also featured were two identical photos of myself. Can’t figure this one out, but I’m thankful for the positive press.

Amy mentioned–and rightly so–the lack of photos on this blog. True. If you must know, and if I can write this without sounding too defensive, I’ve never been one for much photography. In 4-H, I once got a white ribbon (the worst one could get in Indiana 4-H in the early 1990’s) in photography. I suppose I could have been disqualified, which would have been worse, but that would probably have required doing something like spitting on the judge.

But I’ll try to start adding more photos, I will. I’m not too old to learn new tricks. It is nice to see what something’s supposed to look like and digital cameras do make things easier. (But I’m still a big fan of The Joy of Cooking. No photos; you can’t compare your creation with a professional cookbook author’s. It’s great like that.)

Thanks, Amy, for the press!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 9:27 pm

    If you need some help with picture taking, friend, let me know.

Leave a Reply

