Skip to content

Autumn Baking #2: Muffins

October 19, 2009

I’ve tried several new muffin recipes I found online recently and I wanted to share them with you because they are so dang good. (As a side note, I’ll have you know I picked up the phrase “dang good” from a Calvin College literature professor, so it shows that even the Christian educated elite can use minced oaths freely–or only occasionally, to keep things interesting.)

This is what happens: I wake up on Saturday mornings imagining a wonderful new type of muffin. So, I search for it online and voila! I do not have to develop a recipe for them because some kind soul already has.

My first new favorite is Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins. I only changed a few things on this AllRecipes.com recipe: I add 1 cup of chocolate instead of 1/4 (it’s too skimpy), I substitute whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour, and I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. These are so good they could be muffins or cupcakes; if you have frozen shredded zucchini in your freezer from the summer, this is definitely a recipe to try.

My second new favorite is Blueberry Bran Muffins. I woke up this Saturday morning thinking that blueberries and bran would be a perfect marriage, and they were. This recipe is even low fat (which I usually don’t look for.) I made even fewer changes to this recipe: I used all whole wheat pastry flour instead of the white/wheat blend, I used whole milk (It’s all I ever use.), and my applesauce was sweetened. My blueberries were frozen, which worked out fine, but I forgot to dredge them in flour before mixing them into the batter. Dredging blueberries helps them not to sink to the bottom of the muffin. This is a rather sweet muffin, too, so if you cut back on the sugar, they’ll still be good.

Making homemade muffins is one of the easiest from-scratch baking projects you can do. The trick is not to mix them too much. In other words: be more lazy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

