Skip to content

Joy writes on vegetarianism

October 29, 2009

Two weeks ago, the Calvin College student newspaper (Chimes) featured a piece about students, staff, and faculty members who were vegetarians or vegans. I appreciated it, but I kindly disagreed with much of what was said.

For last week’s issue (October 23, 2009), I submitted a rather lengthy letter to the editor that pointed out some of the more nuanced issues in regards to arguements for vegetarianism. It was published as an opinion article entitled “Vegetarianism Complicated.”

One student emailed me after this was written, stating “I thoroughly enjoyed the article you wrote for the Chimes last week. I had felt the same way, although I was considering writing a perhaps…more colorful response. I found your opinion refreshing and yet still done with an inspiring Christian spirit, both audacious and yet humble. It was an absolute pleasure to read.”

Another staff member told Justin that her family had used the article as a starting point for an engaging dinner conversation.

I’ve been considering writing a longer piece than this that more fully fleshes out some of the issues surrounding the seemingly simple choice of becoming vegetarian. What do you think? Is this something people would want to read?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen Moore permalink
    October 29, 2009 10:23 am

    Yes! Yes! Yes! You are gifted. You are talented. You are smart!
    Do it!

  2. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    October 29, 2009 1:46 pm

    Since you asked, I think some would like to read your work–no matter what you wrote, 🙂 but this is definitely a relevant topic. After locating the article under ‘guest writer,’ I quickly saw your line of logic. I find it fascinating and think others would, too, but I’m biased, as you already know! Yes, write it!!

Leave a Reply

