Skip to content

Roasted Apples

February 24, 2010

You know those apples that have been in the fridge a little too long? This is the perfect thing to do with those sad creatures.

I’m always a little embarassed when something rots on me. One of my food soapboxes is the issue of food waste in North America. Americans waste tons and tons of food. One of my class sessions, when I teach about food, is devoted to the issue of food waste and how to reduce the amount of food you throw away.

“Monitor the contents of your refrigerator!” I tell my students, and they write it down. Meanwhile, I let some ham sit in the back of the fridge a little too long last week and started a new colony of mold. Forgive me, please–but I saved the withered apple!

So, next time you’re monitoring the contents of your fridge, and you find a sad little apple, let it be a reminder to you to make roasted apples. They are so good, withered or not. Actually, I’d recommend making this no matter the state of your apples. In Michigan, one can purchase Michigan apples year-round; it’s great. I go to Meijer to purchase mine. And I wash them really well if they’re not organic.

Roasted Apples

1/4 C. sugar

1/8 t. ground cinnamon

6 apples cored and cut into quarters–not Red Delicious. Never Red Delicious, please. Who’s still buying these?

Preheat oven to 400. Combine sugar and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Add apples; toss to coat. Spread apples in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake, tossing halfway through, until tender but firm, 30-35 minutes. Feel a little self-righteous for making something so easy and yummy. Forget about the ham.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 2:26 pm

    And, in my opinion, a little brandy never hurt anyone (or any roasted apples).

Leave a Reply

