Skip to content

Cornmeal Taco Shells

March 4, 2010

I did it.

Last week I bragged about how I’d never accidentally confused chili pepper for chili powder. Well, as of Tuesday night, I can’t say that anymore.

I was making taco meat with a simple spice recipe (I’ll post that tomorrow) and was chatting on the phone with my mom. I wasn’t tasting (or, obviously, paying attention) as I went along, so when Justin said during dinner, “I think you cooked sausage instead of ground pork,” I realized what I’d done.

Yes, I’d put a teaspoon of cayenne pepper in a pound of ground pork. It was really hot.

The taco meat was to accompany some other leftovers in our homemade version of taco shells. Now, I realize that these are not really taco shells. Nor are they tortillas. They’re really cornmeal crepes. But you can use them as taco shells, or enchaladas or quesadillas. However, they are–by no means–authentic.

I got this recipe from my mother-in-law when I married Justin. These are one of his favorite dishes. I could probably just make the shells and grate a little cheese and he’d be over the moon, but I usually try to have several other fillings, seasoned properly–unlike last night.

You can make these up all at once, or just make what you need and refrigerate the batter; it will keep several days in the fridge.

Cornmeal Taco Shells

1 C. milk

3/4 C. cornstarch, arrowroot flour/powder, or white flour (I’ve tried all three; they all work. Use whatever you have.)

8 T. cornmeal, preferably organic

1/2 t. salt

2 eggs

1 1/2 T. oil

Mix ingredients in the order given. Fry like a crepe in a small skillet or crepe pan. Stir cornmeal up into batter to distribute before each taco is made.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gillian Lawrence permalink
    March 31, 2010 4:38 pm

    These also make me go “over the moon” and are incredibly nostalgic. I’ve found that if you use flour rather than cornstarch that they tend to reheat a little better, which is nice the next morning for an egg-and-cheese cornmeal crepe wrap. I think I usually use less than 3/4 cup of flour, otherwise the batter is too thick. Anyway, you’ve inspired me to make a batch with your taco seasoning recipe and some great Heartland Meats ground beef. Yum!

Trackbacks

  1. 16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 6 « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence
  2. Chickpea Tacos for Amanda « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

