Skip to content

Laundry Soap

March 9, 2010

Do not eat this recipe. I repeat: this is not a recipe for food. It is a recipe for laundry detergent.

I learned about this from my mom and have already made 2 batches. It works, quite well, and it’s really cheap, especially if you already have a lot of bar soap sitting around your house unused.

Here’s the porportions. Mix them together. Use about 2 T. for a load of laundry, just like you’d use powdered detergent.

2 parts grated soap

1 part Borax

1 part baking soda

I will now briefly discuss each of the ingredients:

Grated soap: I have a grating attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer, so I use that. I think you could also grate the soap in a food processor. Mom grates hers by hand. Maybe you can do that while you watch a movie.

Borax: It’s sold at most grocery stores with the laundry supplies. Borax is the brand name for sodium borate, a boron compound. It is fairly safe unless you ingest a ton of it. (I don’t recommend ingesting any, actually.) A box costs around $4.00.

Baking soda: If you google “homemade laundry detergent” you’ll find a lot of recipes that call for “washing soda.” This isn’t that easy to find. But this recipe calls for baking soda, or bicarbonate of soda. You can buy bigger boxes of it at the grocery store. I got a big Meijer brand box for several dollars.

Leave a Reply

