Skip to content

BBQ Sauerkraut

March 30, 2010

“It’s a marriage of your heritage!” Justin said when I made this on Saturday.

It’s true. Who else would eat sauerkraut (I’m half German) with BBQ sauce (I’m half Southern)?

It’s at the end of winter and early spring where we start eating more weird foods. I’ve still got sauerkraut I made and canned last summer, and I can still get free range, grass-fed beef from a local farmer. Honestly, though, I didn’t make this recipe up. I found it one day on the internet and I’ve adapted it for our own use and meat consumption. If you like sauerkraut and BBQ, this is definitely worth trying. If you don’t like either of them, I wouldn’t recommend it. But it is easy. Really really easy.

BBQ Sauerkraut

1 lb. ground beef, preferably grass-fed free range

2 medium onions, halved and thinly sliced

2-3 C. drained sauerkraut (I use 3 cups, since I can it in 3-cup jars.)

2 C. tomato juice

1 C. light brown sugar

1/2 C. BBQ sauce

Mix everything together. Bake at 350 for one hour or until cooked and no longer watery. (It may or may not be watery depending on your oven, the size of the onions, etc. Honestly, I don’t drain my sauerkraut and my oven humbly overestimates its temperature, so I have to bake it for more like an hour and a half.)

This is really good served with mashed potatoes or grits. Yes, sauerkraut with grits. I should write a book.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hope Long permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:33 pm

    Joy, this is two of my favorite flavors rolled into one! Do you brown the ground beef first? The first time I fixed sauerkraut after we got married, Jeff asked where the mashed potatoes were – they always mixed theirs (he’s from Indiana) with the potatoes. I now love it that way, too…

  2. Joy permalink*
    March 31, 2010 2:07 pm

    No, Hope, I don’t brown the beef first. It’s quite soft cooked in the sauerkraut, though I’d recommend using a leaner beef. I hope this helps!

Trackbacks

  1. 16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 1 « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

