Skip to content

Grandma’s No Bake Cookies

March 31, 2010

I haven’t had many pregnancy cravings since my first trimester was over. In fact, I’ve eaten quite healthfully and I’ve wanted to eat protein, whole grains, and fruits and vegetables.

However, there is this dessert that Calvin’s foodservice makes that is my downfall. It’s some sort of no bake bars with lots more chocolate and peanut butter (maybe) than oatmeal. I was eating these so often I decided it would be more expedient, healthy, and cheap to start making my own. (Mostly, I was dubious about the type of fat they used. I’m guessing it was margarine, which isn’t good for mother or baby.)

I did and I haven’t bought one since.

My grandma used to make these. She called them “No Bake Fudge Clusters,” and I remember eating them as a child when we visited her. I like this recipe, but I’ve heard that there are some recipes for no bake cookies that have peanut butter in them. If you have a recipe like this and have had good results with it, please share it!

Grandma’s No Bake Cookies

Combine in a saucepan:

1/3 C. cocoa powder

1 1/2 C. sugar

1/2 t. salt

Add and stir until dissolved:

1/2 C. milk

1/4 C. white corn syrup (Yes, I’m well aware of the issues surrounding corn syrup.)

Stir occasionally until mixture forms a ball in cold water. If you’ve never done this before, you just have a bowl of cold water handy and you drop a few drops of the mixture into it. If it dissolves, it needs to cook more. If it forms a tiny little ball that can be manipulated with the fingers, it’s just right. If it forms a piece of hard candy, you’ll have to start over again. This part sounds hard, but it’s not.

Remove from heat and add:

1/4 C. butter

1 t. vanilla

2 C. oats

1 C. coconut

Mix well. Drop onto wax paper. I really like to let them cool completely before eating; they taste better. However, I’ve learned that some people enjoy them while they’re still warm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:29 am

    Well, I do not have a recipe such as you requested, but I did want you to know that I had a good review yesterday for one of your previously published muffin recipes–cranberry? While she may not write to let you know, Emily has made that one of her favorite recipes. Thanks for the good input and new ideas.

Leave a Reply

