Skip to content

Sauerkraut Casserole

April 3, 2010

Who said casseroles had to include canned soup?

More sauerkraut? Can there ever be enough sauerkraut? I think it may be my favorite vegetable, after green beans and broccoli.

Several years ago, I wrote a letter to my German grandma asking her for recipes that call for sauerkraut. This was one that she sent me. She also sent me one for sauerkraut cake, which I have not had the gumption to try yet.

This is another super-easy sauerkraut recipe that’s really easy to fiddle around with. The variation below is mine–I added the mustard, but feel free to do what you like with it.

Sauerkraut Casserole

1 lb. Italian sausage links cut into 1 inch slices (I’ve also used bratwurst or bulk sausage)

1 large onion, chopped

2 apples, quarted and peeled (if you want to)

1 27 oz. can of sauerkraut (My casserole is pink because I used red cabbage kraut.)

1 C. water

1/2 C. packed brown sugar, or less if the apples are sweet

2 t. caraway seeds

1-2 T. mustard

snipped parsley, optional if you have it

Cook sausage and onion until the meat is brown and the onion is tender. Drain.

Stir in apple, kraut, water, brown sugar, caraway seeds, and mustard. You can also mix up the onion, kraut, water, brown sugar, and seasonings and place them in the dish. Then, you can artistically arrange the sausage and apples. That’s what I usually do.

Put into a 13/9″ baking dish.

Bake for 1 hour or until most of the moisture is gone. Garnish with parsley.

This is good with potatoes, of course.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    April 3, 2010 9:29 pm

    Dear Joy,

    I just installed a computer in my kitchen, and yours was the first blog I bookmarked in my digital recipe book. I was exceptionally pleased and contented to find a sauerkraut recipe and mention of a related cake. I’m no grandma, but feel free to let me know if you’d like someone to try that one out.

    Thanks again for your excellent recipes.

  2. April 15, 2010 1:16 pm

    I made this today to use up some sauerkraut I’d gotten for my husband to make Reuben sandwiches. The only other time I’ve used it in cooking was with pork chops and I wasn’t a huge fan (my husband grew up in PA Dutch area and LOVES sauerkraut, I’m still trying to develop a taste for it :). All that to say, I REALLY enjoyed this recipe. I love how the apples made the kraut have a slight apple flavor. Thank you so much for sharing this, it’s going in the “Keep” pile. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 1 « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

