Skip to content

Homemade Lasagna Noodles

April 18, 2010

I don’t make my own pasta, but I do make my own lasagna noodles. I’ve been doing this for years and can attest that it is just as easy as purchasing them. Plus, there’s not all the plastic packaging to keep them from breaking. Want a new way to be green in the kitchen? Make lasagna noodles!

A lot of recipes for pasta will require that you boil the fresh noodles before putting them into the pasta, but I’ll kindly disagree with that. Actually, I find that fresh, uncooked noodles cook inside the lasagna and they soak up all the residual liquid that makes so many lasagnas unfortunately runny. Plus, their texture holds a slice of lasagna together. Have you ever seen your lasagna layers slide apart on your plate? Homemade pasta doesn’t do that because it isn’t slippery.

There are a lot of simple pasta recipes out there, and I’ll post some below, but here are a few pointers.

1) Use only semolina flour. Semolina is made from a hard duram wheat; unbleached bread or all-purpose flour will not give you good results. Bob’s Mill makes semolina flour; you can also purchase it at speciality grocery stores and health food stores. It is not hard to find at all. Don’t let the unfamiliarity of this ingredient keep you from trying pasta.

2) Don’t worry too much about the shape of the noodles. I roll out the dough on a pie crust mat with a rolling pin and then use a knife to cut the pasta into wide strips. It’s OK if some of the edges are rough; it will not affect the taste and no one will know.

3) If you accidentally add too much water to the pasta dough and it is really sticky, don’t worry. Just keep on adding semolina flour, bit by bit, until it is of the appropriate texture.

4) If you have leftover pasta, you can just air-dry it and then add it to soups. Remember that hand rolled noodles (as contrasted with those from a pasta machine) are thicker than the average pasta.

The recipes below are adaptions from a cookbook I’ve found quite useful over the years, The Big Book of Kitchen Appliance Recipes.

https://i2.wp.com/www.gazellebookservices.co.uk/ImagesMaster/W150/1558672400.jpg

Homemade Pasta

1 C. semolina flour

1 egg

1 T. vegetable or olive oil

1 T. water

Mix together until the consistancy of pie crust. (This won’t take long.) Roll out as thinly as possible on a pie mat or counter. Cut into strips with a knife. Use in lasagna or dry by hanging on the back of a chair or over the cookie jar. (Or whatever works for you.)

Amaranth Pasta

Amaranth flour is eaten by many people who have allergies to gluten. It is high in protein. You can buy it at health food stores or from Bob’s Red Mill. I find that it has a strange flavor in desserts, but I really like it in pasta.

3/4 C. semolina flour

1/4 C. amaranth flour

1 egg

1 T. walnut oil (or vegetable, but walnut is better)

3-4 T. water (Use as needed.)

Mix and roll as above.

Pepper Chive Pasta

1 C. semolina flour

1/2 t. dried chives

1 t. black pepper

1 egg

1 T. oil

2-4 T. water

Mix and roll as above.

I’ll be posting some lasagna recipes that have worked particularly well with homemade noodles in the future.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 11:02 pm

    If you do have some time to spare, I’d suggest home made lasagna noodles, too! It may sound complicated making pasta from scratch, but its really not. It’s actually fun and easy. Try it and I guarantee that your lasagna recipes will be a sure hit with this home made lasagna noodles.

  2. Terry Miller permalink
    September 28, 2010 2:20 pm

    THANK YOU! I have been looking for some comments on making lasagna without cooking the homemade noodles first. I don’t know why i just didn’t do it but i felt i needed to research this and with knowing someone else experienced what i seemed to feel made sense. This was GREAT. Thanks, really cuts the time and dirty dishes.

    • Joy permalink*
      September 29, 2010 9:17 am

      You’re welcome, Terry. Quite a few people find this blog because they’re wondering if they have to cook homemade lasagna noodles. I’ve read recipes where you’re supposed to, but I find it’s just as easy not to. Plus, the lasagna stays together quite well and doesn’t slide all over the place like store-bought noodles.

  3. jellysquare permalink
    February 5, 2011 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the recipe. We live twenty miles from town and I realized I was out of LaSagna noodles and that was going to be dinner tonight. Have the sauce and cheeses all ready. I normally make my lasagna in the morning or evening before and DO NOT cook the store bought noodles either. Since I make it ahead of time with the sauce freshly made, the noodles absorb the moisture and are “al dente” when the lasagna is finally served. You can buy non boil noodles, but they are more expensive than the regular. Anyways, I think I will make my own from now on.

  4. Nupur permalink
    June 22, 2012 4:09 am

    Can I make lasagna noodles without using eggs? If one can, could you please share the recipe?

Leave a Reply

