Skip to content

Eating Locally Isn’t More Expensive

May 6, 2010

Eating locally* isn’t more expensive than eating in a conventional manner, despite what some people may assume or experience. Sure, eating local grass-fed beef three meals a day may be more expensive than a conventional diet, but if you use your creativity and an ounce of cleverness, you can eat locally and save money.

“How?” you may ask. Well, first check out this piece on Culinate.com. Second, try some of the advice given. Some of it you may have already heard from me.

*Notice that I say “eating locally,” not “eating local.” “Locally” is an adverb that modifies the verb “eating.” As much as I like good local food, I dislike adverb misuse and I’m really tired of hearing people say, “Eat local!” Go ahead; call me a stick in the mud.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:41 pm

    I enjoyed this article you recommended, & liked the use of her term “locavore.” I had not heard that before. My brothers harass me about being a stickler for word usage, but I will tell you in my world, if I said I was eating locally, that would mean we weren’t driving to Charlotte to go out to eat! How are you feeling?

Leave a Reply

