Skip to content

Grandma’s Blueberry Muffins

June 1, 2010

Don’t be too impressed. Here’s what’s happening: family visits and helps. I say, “Please make this,” and they do.

This past weekend, Evelyn’s paternal grandma visited her for the first time. She made these for breakfast Sunday morning and boy, were they good. I’ve been experimenting lately with different blueberry muffin recipes and this one is, so far, the best yet. It even beats (surprise, surprise) the Cook’s Illustrated recipe. (If you go to the link, another WordPress food blog, you’ll see that at first the author wasn’t overly impressed with this recipe, either, because it is so much work, but later she found them well-worth the effort. I found that this particular recipe tasted a lot like an industrially produced muffin, like one you’d get at a Perkins restaurant.) Our recipe today is easier and tastier.

Grandma’s Blueberry Muffins

For batter:

3/4 stick (6 T.) unsalted butter, melted

1/3 C. whole milk

1 whole large egg

1 large egg yolk

3/4 t. vanilla

1 1/2 C. whole wheat pastry flour

3/4 C. sugar

1 1/2 t. baking powder

3/4 t. salt

2 C. fresh or frozen blueberries

For topping:

3 T. cold unsalted butter, cut into bits

1/2 C. whole wheat pastry flour

3 1/2 T. sugar

Preheat oven to 375. Prepare 12 muffin cups.

Whisk melted butter, milk, egg and egg yolk, and vanilla until combined well.

In another bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add milk mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in blueberries gently.

Divide batter evenly into 12 muffin cups.

For the topping, rub together with your fingertips (or use a pastry blender) all the ingredients until crumbly, then sprinkle evenly over the batter in the cups.

Bake until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted diagonally into the center of the muffin comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 10:37 am

    “I found that this particular recipe tasted a lot like an industrially produced muffin….”
    Gosh! That muffin recipe was a lot of work and my initial reaction to them was tainted by the effort. That said, the muffins were great and your comparison seems harsh. I’ve never had an industrial or store bought muffin that tasted anything like those muffins did.
    I’m glad that you’ve found a recipe that you enjoy and is less work.

  2. Joy permalink*
    June 1, 2010 10:52 am

    Well, particularly I meant the Perkins muffins because they are so rich. This would be an interesting taste comparison, though, but I have a feeling that people’s general preferences (richer vs. lighter, sweeter vs. less sweet) would be the determining factor.

  3. June 1, 2010 11:00 am

    I love making blueberry muffins, but I have never worked with whole wheat flour in muffin before. I guess I should try this recipe so my muffin can be healthier. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Joy permalink*
    June 1, 2010 11:03 am

    Tes, make sure it’s whole wheat pastry flour that you use, not whole wheat bread flour. The pastry flour has a lower gluten content (like white all purpose flour) which will make a tender crumb. Bread flour will make the muffins dense. I pretty much use 100% whole wheat pastry flour in all recipes that call for all purpose white flour. Occasionally, I use half-and-half, if I’m unsure about how it will turn out. I hope this works well for you!

  5. sheila grant duff permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:22 am

    I love blue berry muffins!!!! They are my fav kind of muffin. I’ll see if mom will try this ecipe we’ll be thinking of u Joy and family.

Leave a Reply

