Skip to content

Butterscotch Cake for When You Have a Baby or Are Feeling Lazy

June 18, 2010

Let’s be frank here: breastfeeding makes women hungry. When a friend of mine visited me and Evelyn last week and asked how I was doing, I said “I’m so hungry. All I want to eat is cake,” she wisely replied, “Maybe that’s what your body needs.”

I took that as permission to make a cake and it’s OK to take nutritional advice from really thin people, right? (This friend is quite thin.)

I first made this cake several years ago for Justin’s birthday. It calls for a lot of pre-made ingredients, and because I’m not a nutritional purist, I think it’s OK. Just don’t eat this for breakfast before you have to take a standardized test.

Butterscotch Cake for When You Have a Baby or Are Feeling Lazy

1 box yellow cake mix

1 small box instant butterscotch pudding (See? I told you.)

3/4 C. oil (I use Zoye Canola oil from Zeeland, Michigan.)

4 eggs

3/4 C. water

1/2 C. sugar

1/2 C. chopped pecans or walnuts

1 T. cinnamon

Milk chocolate chips

Butterscotch chips (optional)

Grease and flour a 9/13″ pan. In a small bowl, combine sugar, nuts and cinnamon for the topping. Blend together remaining ingredients for cake and spread 1/2 the batter in the pan. Sprinkle with 1/2 of the topping. Layer the rest of the batter and topping. Sprinkle with a small amount of milk chocolate and butterscotch chips (optional). Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

You don’t have to frost this, which is fine, because the baby probably needs her diaper changed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 12:48 pm

    The recipe sounds delicious. I am making this definitely when I am lazy. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

