Skip to content

Rhubarb Ginger Jam

July 13, 2010

It’s at the end of rhubarb season, I know, but I wanted to post this so that I don’t forget. If you have a little rhubarb left–or even some in your freezer–I’d recommend making this. It’s really easy and quite good. I found the original recipe online somewhere, but I’ve changed it a bit.  Mostly, the original recipe said that it made a lot more than it actually did. Maybe it will make more if you don’t cook it so long, but I wouldn’t recommend this unless you love watery jam. (And really . . . who loves that?)

I’ve been thinking of all the good things that would go with candied ginger–ginger and peach jam, for instance. I think I’ll try that in a few weeks.

Rhubarb Ginger Jam

1 T. water

1 lb. rhubarb, cut into 1″ pieces

3/4 C. sugar, or more if you like it sweeter

3 T. crystalized ginger, chopped

zest of a lemon

Combine all ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer until jam thickens, stirring often. When it has thickened to your liking, can or freeze. This recipe makes about 1 pint, so I’d recommend doubling it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    July 14, 2010 4:25 pm

    Joy,

    I don’t make jam very often, but I want to try this–it sounds great. But when I do make jam, my recipe always says to use Certo or SureJel. How do you get this jam to jel without some kind of pectin? Or does the rhubarb have enough on its own?

    Linda

  2. Joy permalink*
    July 15, 2010 11:40 am

    Great question, Linda. I had to consult McGee’s ON FOOD AND COOKING to find an answer to this. Pectin naturally occurs in fruit, but cooking fruit breaks it down. However, it can be re-constructed by the addition of sugar, acid, and further cooking. The addition of liquid or powered pectin makes the gelling (is that a word) of the preserves a sure bet.

    I found that this particular recipe was more like a compote than a jam, but it will stay on your toast! (You can also add more sugar to make it gel better–or adapt a rhubarb jam recipe that includes a commercial pectin product to include crystalized ginger.)

Leave a Reply

