Skip to content

Fresh Pea Hummus

July 30, 2010

I made this recipe for the first time in 2008. On the card I wrote, “This is the best thing I have ever eaten.”

I probably was exaggerating only a little bit, because I forgot this existed until I pulled it out again this year, remembered the flavor, and began salivating.

Peas are really a June crop, so I shouldn’t be posting this late July, but I don’t want to forget the best thing I’ve ever eaten, so I’m recording it for your (and my!) sake.

Enjoy!

Fresh Pea Hummus

1 1/4 C. fresh shelled green peas (fresh–not frozen)

1 C. drained cooked/canned garbanzo beans (chickpeas)

1/4 C. chopped fresh Italian/flat leaf parsley (curly parsley works, too)

1/4 C. plain whole-milk yogurt

3 T. chopped green onion or chives

2 T. fresh lemon juice

2 t. ground cumin

3/4 t. salt

Process ingredients together in a blender or food processor. Spread on bread or crackers, or eat out of the bowl with a spoon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    August 3, 2010 4:12 pm

    I have never in my life that I can remember had fresh peas, but I do love every kind of hummus I’ve ever tried, so have printed this out to save until next year…

Leave a Reply

