Skip to content

16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 3

August 10, 2010

My sweet husband. For lunch, he ate Cabbage Roll Casserole and Sweet and Spicy Slaw. For dinner, we had Layered Reuben Salad and Vegetarian Torta (on Little Rooster buns instead of a baguette). Everything had cabbage in it. I’m surprised I haven’t served cabbage for breakfast yet or tried to disguise it into a dessert.

(In case you missed it, we got a lot of cabbage.)

So, the fifth way to eat your cabbage is to make Layered Ruben Salad.

Allow me to wax poetical for a moment. I love reuben sandwiches. I like them on rye, pumpernickel, with corned beef, pastrami, or smoked turkey. I like them with sauerkraut or slaw (although then they’re sometimes called a Russian sandwich.) So, any food with the word “reuben” in it will at least elicit a taste from me.

This recipe, unfortunately for my 16 heads of cabbage, only calls for 2 cups of the stuff. It’s OK, I guess; we all need a break sometime.

2 C. finely shredded cabbage

2 C. finely shredded lettuce

1 C. 1000 Island dressing (I mix my own with mayonnaise, relish or chopped pickle, and ketchup. If this gives you pause, consider. What did you think it was made of?)

1 t. caraway seed

6 oz. thinly sliced corned beef (You can use less, if you like.)

3 hard cooked eggs, sliced

1 C. shredded Swiss cheese (4 oz.)

4 slices melba toast or wasa bread, crushed

In a bowl, mix the cabbage, lettuce, 1/4 C. dressing, and caraway seed. In the bottom of a medium glass bowl or square baking dish, layer half the cabbage mixture, half the corned beef, remaining cabbage mixture, remaining corned beef, hard cooked eggs, and cheese. Spread remaining dressing over the top of the salad. Chill up to 24 hours. Before serving, top with the crushed melba toast.

Serves 4 as a main dish, but this varies with differing attitudes toward cabbage.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

