Skip to content

Baked Oatmeal Custard

August 11, 2010

When my sister made this for breakfast last week, I’ll admit: I was dubious.

This is how different my sister and I are. When we were little, she would water down her orange juice because she said it was too strong.  When I was little, I would lick the orange juice concentrate can out if given the opportunity.

Plus, I try and try, but I’m not a big oatmeal-for-breakfast kind of girl. I mostly don’t like how it gets all (excuse the metaphor) snotty. I’m guessing that the gluten in oatmeal starts to form, which is why it gets kind of stringy. This is a little gross to me. I’d rather eat toast or grits or granola or pretty much any other breakfast food.

But enough complaining. My sister, whom I love very much, has adapted this baked oatmeal recipe. It is good and she has every right to be proud of it. (I think she is, too.) It brought joy to my heart to see her pouring cream over her own serving which made me wonder if she still waters down her orange juice.

When I asked her if I could publish her recipe on my blog she said, ‘Yes, but you have to say that I made it up.”

So here it is:

Liebe Stutzman’s Almost-Famous Baked Oatmeal Custard

3 C. instant oatmeal

1/2-3/4 C. brown sugar

2 t. baking powder

1 t. salt

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 C. cream (half and half)

1 1/2 C. milk (Liebe recommends “Or use more cream for extra good custard.”)

Heat oven to 350. Mix everything together. Pour into a 9 by 13″ pan. Bake for 25 min. or until set.

Dried fruit is really good in it. Eat with milk or cream and honey, if desired.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:46 pm

    This post made my mother’s heart sing!! I, too, agree that Liebe’s oatmeal is delicious.

  2. Faith Ferguson permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:49 am

    What fond memories you have just jogged in me. This made me reminisce over being little here in GA and spending time at your house with you and Liebe. It has always been amazing how different the two of you are. Even when I was little, I remember being astounded by the two of you. I miss spending time with you both.

  3. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    September 26, 2010 7:21 am

    OK, I’ve had this at Liebe’s house, but now I’m going to try to make it. Does ‘instant’ oatmeal really mean ‘instant’, or does it mean quick-cooking? I’m so confused!!

    • Joy permalink*
      September 27, 2010 9:28 pm

      Good point! Liebe wrote “instant,” but I used quick-cooking. I usually have old-fashioned oats around, so I’ll try those sometime and let you know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

