Skip to content

Moo Shu Vegetables

August 20, 2010

I thought I’d posted this, really I did. I serve this on a regular basis (read: every week) during the summer, and when I’ve made it for visiting family members who have asked for the recipe, I’ve said, “It’s on my blog.”

Oops. Well it is now.

There are a few recipes that call for odd assortments of vegetables–two green beans from your sad little garden (or my sad little garden, as the case may be), half a zucchini leftover from when you made bread, one green pepper, two leaves of swiss chard, you get the drift. One recipe I’ve already published, Vegetable Rice Salad, calls for 3 cups of mixed vegetables. This one calls for 12 ounces. So, here’s what I do. I get out my kitchen scale and start chopping until I have 12 ounces. If you don’t have a kitchen scale, I’d really recommend asking for one for Christmas. It’s not a necessity (which is why I didn’t say, “Buy it now!”) but it is quite useful. Weight is much more precise than volume.

What makes this so good is the hoisin sauce, however. You can get that in the Asian section of your grocery store, but it’s even cheaper at Asian markets.

Moo Shu Vegetables

adapted from Vegetarian Times magazine

3 t. toasted (brown) sesame oil, divided (I never measure; I just pour.)

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 t. minced fresh ginger

2 cloves garlic, minced

12 oz. chopped, mixed vegetables

2 C. mung bean sprouts

1 bunch scallions, sliced and divided (I’ve also substituted chives.)

1 T. reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 T. rice vinegar

2 T. hoisin sauce

rice or wheat tortillas, to serve

Heat 1 t. oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add eggs; cook, stirring gently, until set, 2-3 min. Remove to a plate.

Wipe out the pan and heat the remaining 2 t. oil over medium heat. Add ginger and garlic and cook, stirring, until softened and fragrant, 1 minute. Add vegetables (the tougher ones first, the more delicate ones last), then the bean sprouts, half the scallions, soy sauce, and vinegar. Stir to combine. Cook, stirring once or twice, until the vegetables are just tender, about 3 minutes. Depending on the moisture content of your vegetables, you may need to cover them. Add the reserved eggs and hoisin; cook, uncovered, stirring and breaking up the scrambled eggs, until heated through, 1-2 min. Stir in the remaining scallions and remove from heat.

Serve over rice OR (and we always eat them this way) serve in whole wheat tortillas with additional hoisin sauce spread inside. Don’t use a tablecloth; this is a messy main dish.

Leave a Reply

