Skip to content

16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 6

September 1, 2010

As I wrote in “16 Ways to Eat Your Cabbage: Part 1,” we got 16 heads of cabbage at one time, and I’m recording what we did with them. (A little slower than I would have like to, but that’s life with an infant and a job.)

When I told a friend of mine about it, she said, “That’s a lot of fish tacos!” I agree. I think that when some people think of cabbage, they think “Ah! Fish tacos!”

I actually never had fish tacos until I started dating Justin. He was (and is) quite the fan of them and I learned why quite early. Fish tacos are delicious, especially if you make your own homemade cornmeal taco shells to put them in. (They’re easy, too.)

So, the ninth thing to do with cabbage? Make fish tacos. A lot of them.

Baja Fish Tacos

2 T. taco seasoning (Make your own using this recipe.)

1 T. fresh or bottled lime juice

1 T. orange juice or water (I used water. I’m the kind of person to have lime juice but not orange juice on hand.)

1 lb. firm whitefish fillets like mahimahi or lake perch

1 T. vegetable oil

2 C. sliced green cabbage

1/2 C. chopped green onions

1/2 C. sour cream

8 corn tortillas

8 lime wedges

Combine the first three ingredients in a bowl. Add fish. Toss to coat

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish; saute 5 minutes or until fish is done.

Combine cabbage, onions, and sour cream in a medium bowl.

Warm tortillas according to package instructions. Spoon about 1/4 C. cabbage mixture down the center of each tortilla. Divide fish evenly among tortillas; fold in half. Serve with lime wedges. Yield: 8 fish tacos (4 servings)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

