Skip to content

Granola . . . Take 3

September 3, 2010

I love granola. I currently have a cupboard bare of granola. When it cools down a bit and I’m home, I’ll make some more.

I love to try new granola recipes, even though I have some old favorites. Here are some I’ve posted in the past: 3 recipes for granola here and Maple Nut Granola here.

So, last week I tried this teeny tiny recipe for granola and–silly me–didn’t double it. I’d recommend you do that–it’s quite good.

Granola with Cashews, Dried Fruit, and Wheat Germ

1 C. old fashioned oats (Really, the single cup of oats required should have clued me in to the necessity of doubling.)

1/4 C. wheat germ

1/4 C. sweetened flaked coconut

1/4 C. coarsely broken cashews

1/4 C. coarsely broken walnuts or pecans

3 t. sesame seeds

1/4 C. pure maple syrup (NOT pancake syrup)

2 T. vegetable oil

2 T. honey

1 T. molasses

1/2 t. ground cinnamon

1/4 C. raisins

1/4 C. chopped dried apricots

Preheat oven to 350. Mix dry ingredients–excluding the dried fruit–in one bowl and wet ingredients in another. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir. Transfer to a large rimmed baking sheet. Bake 15 minutes. Stir. Bake until golden brown, about 15 minutes longer. Mix in dried fruits. Bake until fruit is heated through and granola is slightly darker, about 10 minutes longer. Cool completely. Transfer to an airtight container. Can be stored at room temperature in an airtight container. Makes 3 1/2 cups, which is why you should double it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 12:23 pm

    speaking wheat germ and other “good for you” things. i’m preparing to do it! Logan Turnpike Mill will be at AOTT in a few weeks. Question for you first, can you get back to me re: grits – white or yellow for you? and pancake mix…which do you desire??

  2. Joy permalink*
    September 8, 2010 2:49 pm

    I consulted my mom, the expert in all things Southern, for the difference between white and yellow grits. Here’s what she said: both yellow and white grits are appropriately Southern, but people who grew up in the Old South or in the Mountains of Georgia prefer yellow grits. The people who prefer yellow grits tend to say there’s a taste difference. The white grits are made from bleached hominy, the yellow from unbleached.

    Hope this helps you! I often have some of both around for variety. I’m sure that if you only get one type, some people will ask for the other. Let’s get the word out there that you’re the place for authentic (not instant!) grits!

Trackbacks

  1. Giant’s Granola for a Month « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence
  2. Granola…take 5 « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

