Skip to content

Cheddar Cornmeal Biscuits with Chives

September 10, 2010

Oh, these are good. Biscuits are to my husband what a bunch of roses are to some women. Or what a clean bathroom is to me. When Justin is sad or it’s been a long week, I love to make biscuits for him on Saturday mornings. This is a new recipe I recently tried and really enjoyed.

I’ve written some already about Logan Turnpike Mill and quality cornmeal. And I know that corn products have a bad rap these days after Michael Pollan wrote the chapter on corn in Omnivore’s Dilemma. However, cornmeal is a pretty close-to-the-source ingredient. You can practically make it yourself, if you have a giant stone to grind it on. Anyway, I love biscuits and cornmeal, so this was a perfect marriage of the two.

Cheddar Cornmeal Biscuits with Chives

1 1/2 C. whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose flour, if you prefer)

1/2 C. stone-ground cornmeal

1 T. baking powder

1/2 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1/4 t. freshly ground pepper

1/2 C. shredded extra-sharp Cheddar cheese

2 T. cold butter, cut into 1/2″ cubes

3/4 C. reduced-fat sour cream

1/4 C. finely chopped fresh chives

1 T. honey

3-5 T. milk

Preheat the oven to 400.

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add cheese. With a pastry blender or two knives, distribute the butter evenly into the dry ingredients until the mixture looks pebbly with small oat-size lumps.

Add sour cream, chives and honey and stir a few times. Add milk, stirring just until the dough comes together. Add more milk as needed until the dough holds together. If you stir too much the biscuits will be tough, but no one will die because of it.

On a lightly floured surface, pat the dough into a rectangle bout 9 by 5 inches and just over 1/2 inch thick. Using a large chef’s knife, divide the dough into 12 biscuits. Place on ungreased baking sheet.

Bake until lightly browned on the top, 14-16 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

These are, of course, good with homemade milk gravy, also a Southern food, one I’ve never had or followed a recipe for. I remember my Poppa saying to 13-year-old-me, “Joy, you know how to make gravy?” I didn’t then, but I do now. Poppa would have liked these biscuits.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    September 10, 2010 3:41 pm

    I’m going to make these tomorrow morning!! …and yes, I’m sure Daddy would have liked these and would have been so proud of you for learning to make them–and gravy!! I’ll let you know how your dad likes them, too.

Leave a Reply

