Skip to content

Easy Grape Juice

September 28, 2010

I grew up drinking homemade grape juice. Mom would store the jars in the laundry room. I remember how the quarts of grape juice lined up on the shelf would gradually diminish as the winter progressed.

Yesterday we made grape juice. I don’t really have a recipe, I just call my mom every year and ask her.

So, this year, I’m going to write down the instructions from Mom. I’ve tried to find this online, but it seems that most of the online recipes I find involve smashing the grapes. That is far too much work for me, especially these days. This one is very easy, and you can change the proportions to taste. (And don’t worry, Mom. I’ll still call you.)

Easy Grape Juice

concord grapes

sugar

boiling water

1) Remove the grapes from the stem and wash well.

2) Place grapes in sterilized jars. Add sugar. Fill to the top of the jar with boiling water. (“How much do I add?” you ask. Well, it depends. If you like really sweet juice, add more sugar. If you want concentrated juice you can water down later, add more grapes. I add 2 C. grapes and 1/2 C. sugar to each quart jar and then I dilute it to taste when I open the jar.)

3) Boil in a hot water bath for 25 minutes. Remove from the water bath and allow to cool. Allow the juice to sit for at least 2 weeks before straining out the grapes and serving. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

