Skip to content

Holiday Rice Pilaf(s)

December 9, 2010

Lately, I’ve been on a rice pilaf-making kick. I don’t know why; I’m not on a special diet nor did I buy 50 pounds of rice in bulk nor did I get 50 pounds of rice free (like the cabbage, well not 50 pounds, but you know what I mean…).

Rice pilaf is really easy and it’s delicious. Plus, rice is a good accompaniment to so many things, pilaf reheats well, and it’s pretty decent cold. So, I’ll share today two new recipes I’ve recently tried.

Brown Rice Pilaf with Almonds and Parsley

I tripled this last Saturday to bring to a work dinner with Justin. I made it later in the afternoon and then stuck it in the oven with some foil over the top to keep it warm. This is the un-tripled recipe.

splash olive oil (who measures this?)

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 C. brown rice

2 1/2 C. chicken broth, or vegetable broth if you prefer

1 C. fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

1/4 C. (1 oz.) sliced roasted almonds or 1/4 C. chopped almonds (I used plain, chopped almonds)

Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion adn cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 6 minutes. Add the broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until the rice is tender and the broth is absorbed, 20-25 minutes. Stir in the parsley, almonds, 1/2 t. salt and 1/4 t. pepper and transfer to a serving bowl.

Pomegranate Pilaf

Pomegranate is very popular these days, but I only tried this because I had a pomegranate left over from Thanksgiving decorations. This recipe is from Martha Stewart. Click here to read it.  It called for pistachios or almonds, and I used almonds, but only because I had them. I think pistachios would be prettier.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 11:33 am

    I’m inspired by your pilaf kick. My husband loves rice pilaf — and it’s a pleaser with the kids too. Will try your recipe this next week. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

