Skip to content

Pickled beets and a new note: I’ll be posting every day this year (starting today)

January 6, 2011

WordPress, the site that hosts my blog, is offering a 2011 challenge to blog every day or every week. Well, I’m going to take them up on the challenge and try to blog every day this year. I know it won’t be easy; I have a life full of distractions, but if a big goal will help me to blog more, than I’m willing to go for it. This should count as a post, but since most of my posts have something to do with food, I’ll make this a real local food posting. Keep commenting…it will help me blog more, too!

And now for the meat (I mean vegetables) of this post . . .

Earlier this fall, at the last CSA pickup, we got some beets. They sat in the refrigerator awhile; I was working, I didn’t have time to properly prepare beets. But then, one day, I read a recipe in The Wall Street Journal and I decided to give it a try:

Spicy Pickled Beets with Radish and Watercress (Click on the name to go to the link and then scroll down for this specific recipe.)

These are REALLY GOOD pickled beets–and then there’s a recipe for how to make a salad with them using radishes, watercress, feta, and toasted pecans. I think that other pickled beets could be served with these accompaniments for a similar salad. (Though I think I favor this spicy pickled beet recipe.)

I made this salad several times and experimented with the arrangement.

Pickled Beets in a Composed Salad

I also think you could use this recipe when beets are in season and make some to can. I may start regularly pickling beets again, now that I found this recipe.

Pink fingers . . . here I come!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

