Skip to content

Zucchini Soups

January 13, 2011

In the winter, we eat a lot of frozen produce. This past year, I didn’t freeze much produce because 1) I had a baby and 2) we split our CSA share with another household, which left WAY less produce to freeze. It was easier–then.

But now, I look into my freezer and the produce is beginning to look a little spare. There’s some frozen cherry tomatoes, a few containers of kale, and a few more of zucchini/summer squash because the stuff is so dang easy to freeze. I just grate it in a rotary grater and freeze it. So, what does one do with frozen zucchini besides make zucchini bread? Well, soup, of course, and in the last two weeks I’ve tried two different recipes.

The first is Zucchini Basil Soup. This recipe is from a 2008 issue of the now defunct Gourmet magazine. (Click the title of the recipe for the link.) Because I used frozen zucchini, I changed it by adding all the zucchini to the pot straight away, so I didn’t have any julienned zucchini to garnish it with. I also didn’t have any fresh basil, so I used dried basil from our garden. It is a very good, light recipe. Evelyn liked it a lot and started to cry when I was eating some leftover soup for lunch today. I shared with her.

The second is from a wood covered, ring bound, 1976 book called Souper Supper Cookbook, designed and illustrated by Janet Bell-deVries and edited by Mary Ellen Conklin. I picked my copy of this oddity at Redux Books here in Grand Rapids several years ago. I could not find anything on the internet at all about this book.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The recipe was good, but I made several changes for frozen zucchini. If you’re using fresh, I’m sure you can figure it out.

Zucchini Soup

8 cups shredded zucchini

4 strips bacon, diced

1/2 t. salt

1/4 t. pepper

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 t. each basil, oregano, marjoram and thyme

1/14 t. rosemary

1 quart beef stock

1 T. horseradish, optional (but so good!)

Brown the bacon. Add the zucchini and seasonings. Add the stock and puree using an immersion blender. Heat and serve. This is also good leftover.

Leave a Reply

