Skip to content

Sweet & Spicy Nuts

January 16, 2011

I am crazy. I plumb forgot to blog yesterday because I spent the day with Justin and Evelyn and I was reading a novel. I thought of blogging several times, but thought I would remember to later. And, alas, I didn’t. So, to make up for it, I will post twice today.

I made these nuts this afternoon and they are so good. I would have taken a photo, but I can’t find the camera’s battery recharger, so you’ll have to imagine. (They look like nuts with stuff on them–rather boring and un-photogenic.) I have made a lot of nut appetizers/snacks in my day, but Justin and I agree that this is–by far–the best one yet. (I posted a ginger-glazed almond recipe last February.) I think it may be the use of the egg white (for crunchiness) and the combination of spices.

Sweet and Spicy Nuts

1 egg white

1 T. water

1 lb. whole cashews, whole almonds, walnut halves, and/or pecan halves (I used an entire pound of almonds.)

1/3 C. sugar

2 t. salt

1 1/2 t. ground cumin

1 t. paprika

1 t. ground coriander

1/2 t. cayenne pepper

1/4 t. ground ginger

In a medium bowl beat egg white and water until soft peaks form. Add nuts and toss to coat.

In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.

Spread the nuts on a rimmed cookie sheet. Sprinkle the seasonings over the nuts.

Now, you can variate the heat/time for baking these. I was also baking a pie, so I baked these at 375 for about 25 minutes. The recipe says to bake for 35-40 minutes at 300. I think you can be flexible here as long as you stir at least once and make sure they are not over (or under) baked. Stick around the kitchen and check them every so often.

These are really good. So good, I don’t think I’ll be eating much dinner tonight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 8:49 am

    What was the novel?

    • Joy permalink*
      January 24, 2011 8:39 pm

      The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larssen
      Oh, what a good read! Better than cooking!

Leave a Reply

