Skip to content

Happy Pie Day! (White Chocolate Cranberry-Pecan Tart)

January 23, 2011

Today is National Pie Day! Happy Pie Day, everyone!

And what does one do on pie day, of course? Why make (and eat) pie!

We went to Meijer today after church to pick up a few groceries (this is a usual tradition since it’s on the way to church.) Anyway, I was a little disappointed to see that there was nothing special for pie day. No special displays, no samples, no person dressed as a pie, no pie sale–nothing.

However, even if Meijer would have done an amazing pie musical with free pie for everyone, I doubt they could have topped the pie I made for Pie Day–White Chocolate Cranberry-Pecan Tart. I first made this for my brother’s groom’s dinner, which coincided with Thanksgiving, this past year.

And, then I made it again today. Our camera is back and I even took pictures. I really recommend, since this won’t be posting until Pie Day is almost over, making this even when it’s not Pie Day. It is so good and very easy.

White Chocolate Cranberry-Pecan Tart

1 refrigerated pie crust

1 C. fresh or frozen cranberries (It can be a heaping cup.) (Did you know that cranberries are a Michigan product?)

1 C. pecan halves

1 C. white vanilla chips

3 eggs

3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3/4 C. light corn syrup

2 T. flour

1 t. grated orange peel

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Place pie rust in a 10-inch tart pan or shallow pie pan. (I use a 9 1/2” tart pan from Williams Sonoma that is terrific.) Layer cranberries, pecans and white chocolate chips in the crust.

Crust, cranberries, pecans & white chocolate chips in the tart pan

In a large bowl, beat eggs, add brown sugar, corn syrup, flour and orange peel; blend well.

I use a microplane grater for zesting citrus.

Pour over cranberry mixture in pie shell.

Place on a cookie sheet to prevent the crust from browning too fast and bake 35-45 minutes or until the crust is golden brown. Cool at least 2 hours before serving. Store in the refrigerator. If desired, serve with whipped cream. (I don’t–if I did, I would hardly sweeten it.)

Leave a Reply

