Skip to content

Grandmama’s Bran Muffins

January 29, 2011

What is a weekend breakfast?

Well, breakfasts during the week at our home usually consist of granola or toast. Sometimes we may have hot cereal such as cream of wheat or grits, but it’s always a simple preparation. Justin makes breakfast on weekdays.

On weekends, however, I love to make breakfast. I don’t like going out for breakfast because I know that I could make something healthier and cheaper at home.

Usually, on Saturdays we make pancakes or waffles and on Sundays I make muffins or scones. Sundays are busier–but today is busy, so I made muffins. This is my Grandmama’s recipe–revised with my addition of currants, which you may omit or substitute raisins or other dried fruit instead.

Grandmama’s Bran Muffins

1 1/2 C. all-purpose flour (I use white whole wheat or whole wheat pastry flour.)

1/2 t. salt

1 T. baking powder

1/2 C. sugar (I use a scant 1/3 C.)

1 1/2 C. Kellogg’s All-Bran cereal (I use the Trader Joe’s brand.)

1 1/4 C. milk

1/4 C. vegetable oil

1 egg

1/2 C. currants, or other dried fruit, diced if necessary

Measure bran cereal and milk into a large mixing bowl. Stir to combine and allow to stand 1-2 minutes or until cereal is softened.

Meanwhile, prepare 12 muffin cups and heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Stir together dry ingredients. Add the dried fruit.

Add egg and oil to bran mixture. Beat well. Add flour mixture, stirring only until combined. Spoon into muffin cups. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the muffins test done.

These are excellent served with butter and strawberry preserves.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 12:14 pm

    Just saw this recipe on Food Press and had to check it out. I totally agree about weekend breakfast. I like to make it special. I enjoyed checking out some of your other recipes, too. I make bran muffins a lot. Thanks, Judy

    • Joy permalink*
      February 5, 2011 8:16 pm

      Do let me know how they turn out, Judy.

  2. January 29, 2011 2:44 pm

    So healthy!!! I love Grandma recipes!!! Grandmas definitely know how to make things good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

