Skip to content

Homemade Pizza

January 31, 2011

Homemade pizza–even if all you have to put on it is leftovers–is always a simple & delicious choice to make.

Tonight I tried a new recipe for pizza crust from Alice Water’s The Art of Simple Food. If you know how to make yeast bread, the basic instructions are:

Let 2 t. dry yeast + 1/2 C. lukewarm water sit together for awhile in a big bowl.

Add 1/4 C. white bread flour and 1/4 C. rye flour. Let sit until bubbly.

Add 3 1/4 C. unbleached white bread flour and 1 t. salt. Add 3/4 C. cold water and 1/4 C. oil. Knead and let rise.

More detailed instructions (well, the exact recipe from Alice Water’s book) are on this blog here– plus a short humorous story about this person’s dough preparation kerfuffle.

This is a really good pizza dough. I think I may start using it as my go-to recipe. Pizza and chile are two things that I rarely use a recipe for. I just use whatever is around.

Anyway, my story about making pizza is not so funny as the blog post I noted above. Evelyn was inordinately fussy today and everything I did involved 3 steps:

1) Trying to do something. (In this case, let’s say “add flour to the yeast sponge.”)

2) Having to stop and pick up Evelyn.

3) Doing said thing in the brief half minute between setting Evelyn down again and continued squealing. Her, not me, though at times I probably would have done myself good to have joined her.

Anyway, I did finish the pizza. And even though it’s Meatless Monday, I put meat on it because I’m trying to figure out a way to use the unfortunate meatloaf I made last week.

Unfortunate meatloaf that looks like a pair of bad shoes.

So, one pizza had meatloaf, salad peppers, green scallions, red sauce, and mozzarella cheese on it. The other one had the exact same things minus the peppers and plus kalamata olives. Justin said the worst thing about the pizza was the meatloaf.

I didn’t tell him that there’s still 1/4 of one sitting in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

