Skip to content

Easy Butternut/Buttercup Squash Soup

February 5, 2011

Here’s a joke I loved as a younger girl:

Q: What did Jack Pumpkinhead (a character from the Oz books) say as he fell out of an airplane?

A: Help! I don’t want to be a squash!

Maybe it was funnier when I was ten, but I think Jack Pumpkinhead is completely wrong because all pumpkins, unless they’re award-winning giant ones–should probably wish they were squash because squash is so much better tasting.

I remembered this tonight at dinner. Here’s what we had: squash soup, leftover caveman cornbread with homemade butter and jam (strawberry for me, hot pepper for my husband), water, and milk. The soup was delicious, and once we added some ground up dry oats and applesauce to Evelyn’s portion, she liked it, too. (It was a little spicy for a baby.)

Easy Squash Soup

In a large Dutch oven heat 1-2 T. olive oil or butter. Add 1 chopped onion, 1 chopped celery stalk, and 1 peeled and chopped carrot. Cook until tender, stirring occasionally. Add 1-2 t. curry powder and 1/2 C. basmati rice. (You can substitute another type of rice if you don’t have basmati, but it is particularly nice with the curry. I’d also recommend using homemade curry powder; I have a good recipe here.)

Add 50 oz. liquid (I used water with about 2 t. of chicken bouillon–you can use a combination of chicken broth and water if you have broth or water and vegetable stock if you’re vegetarian or vegan) and 3-4 C. cooked, mashed butternut or buttercup squash. You could also use canned pumpkin, but it won’t be as good. (Don’t let that stop you, though.) Heat and cook for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. You can puree this, if you wish, but I think it’s a little more rustic left to its own devices. Plus, it seems more filling when you have to chew. Taste and correct seasonings, adding salt and (maybe) pepper, if your curry isn’t hot enough.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    February 8, 2011 5:54 pm

    Yay! I just noticed this morning when I was getting hotdogs out of the freezer for supper (I bet that about makes you gag, doesn’t it? 🙂 ) that I have a ton of butternut squash, already mashed up, in there that I need to start using up. I’ve already printed this one out. We’ll have it this weekend!

  2. Joy permalink*
    February 8, 2011 8:28 pm

    Well, I do like the occasional hot dog. I even blogged about them once here: https://joyelizabethlawrence.wordpress.com/2010/07/17/spanish-hot-dogs/

Trackbacks

  1. Creamy Pumpkin Soup « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence
  2. Squashed Pumpkin Soups (and other ideas) « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

