Skip to content

A Triple-Header Day: Pumpkin Muffins, Kale Soup, Lemon Coconut Bars

February 10, 2011

Today, I made three-count them–one, two, three–blog-worthy items.

It’s amazing, really, first that I made three things and second that they were all blog-worthy. I made pumpkin muffins, a kale/squash soup and lemon coconut bars.

I think, of the three of them, the muffins were the most successful.

I know–I just wrote about pumpkin pineapple muffins. And awhile back, I wrote about pumpkin pancakes, so I certainly have not neglected this vegetable’s breakfast properties. But, if you have pumpkin and not pineapple, here’s the recipe for you on Epicurious.com. Most of the ingredients are standard except for the pumpkin seeds, but those can easily be replaced with other nuts if you don’t have them.

A few notes: I substituted 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour. And I got 15 instead of 12 muffins from the recipe, but I think my muffin tins are small.

Tonight we ate Squash and Kale with White Bean Stew from Farmer John’s Cookbook. I didn’t really follow the recipe, so I’ll tell you what I did here. Soup is soup; do what you can if you want. If you have other local or seasonal ingredients you can use–do, by all means.

Squash and Kale with White Bean Stew

Soak overnight or quick soak (by bringing to boil and then letting sit for several hours) 1 pound small white beans. Drain and rinse; put new water over them and cook until tender.

Chop an onion. Saute the onion and some chopped garlic in olive oil or other fat. Add 1 peeled, seeded and chopped hard squash, such as buttercup. Add 1 t. dried sage, 1 t. cumin seed, and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Add 6-8 C. of water or broth (vegetable or chicken). While it is cooking, prepare about 1 lb. kale. Chop the leaves and stems. Add them to the soup. Cook until the vegetables are tender. Add the beans. Taste and adjust seasonings.

This would be really good with grated parmesan over it, but I didn’t think about this until half-way through dinner.

 

For dessert, I made Lemon-Coconut Bar Cookies from a recipe that was originally in Cooking Light. I substituted whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour and we really liked them. I looked at some of the comments on the recipe (here) and saw that some people thought they were too sweet. I thought they were sweet, but I haven’t met a lemon bar that isn’t. If you don’t like your lemon dessert too sweet, though, don’t make the glaze and reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 C.

 

Leave a Reply

