Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

Today, I’m going to deviate a little bit from my usual recipe posting.

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope that all of you had a wonderful day. I love Valentine’s Day so much; when I was growing up, my family celebrated it as a family holiday. It was about love, of course, but not about love and romance. It was about brotherly (and sisterly) love. It was about God’s love. We would give each other little presents and Mom and Dad would give us little presents. I remember many delightful celebrations, including one where I made a game in which, at some point, Dad had to open the kitchen window and holler “Happy Valentine’s Day” to anyone who was listening.

I’m trying to start Valentine’s Day traditions for my own family. So, this year I made Valentine’s Day cookies.

Homemade Valentine's Day Cookies

I also sewed a heart banner to hang over our dining room windows. It wasn’t too much work and I can re-use them every year. I used scraps of red cloth backed in a stiff muslin. I trimmed them with bits and pieces of red and white trim I had laying around–ribbon, lace, and rick-rack, mostly.

Valentine's Day Banner

 

Valentine Banner Detail

Valentine Banner Detail

And for gifts, I made Justin & Evelyn matching pajama bottoms/pants. (Evelyn will probably wear hers as pants. Justin will wear his as pajama bottoms.

 

Evelyn's New Pants

Evelyn's New Pants

I also made heart-shaped Jello and, for dinner, Justin and I had shrimp tacos with citrus cabbage slaw. (Really great recipe, by the way. Shrimp is not usually found in our freezer, but we do eat it occasionally for a holiday.)

Happy Valentines Day, everyone. Tell someone you love them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    February 14, 2011 9:56 pm

    We just looked at your newest post–including the wonderful photos. We really liked Evelyn’s new Valentine’s pants, but your dad was wondering whether or not Justin was going to model his new ones, too. 🙂

  2. Joy permalink*
    February 14, 2011 9:57 pm

    Don’t bet on it. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day Chocolate Desserts « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence
  2. Valentine’s Day Brownies « Joy-Elizabeth Lawrence

Leave a Reply

