Skip to content

Two Turkey Sandwiches to Try

February 15, 2011

We’ve been eating sandwiches more often lately, and I’m not going to complain about that at all. I like sandwiches, but it does mean that I’m cooking a little less (for better or for worse.) We’ve started eating sandwiches on Sunday after church. I mentioned this to a theatre student I saw in the grocery store after on Sunday.

Me: Hi, [student’s name], how are you?

Student: I’m looking for Ezekiel bread. Have you seen it at Meijer?

Me: No, you’d have to go to Harvest Health to find that, but it’s closed on Sunday.

Student: Too bad. I’m making a gift basket of my girlfriend’s favourite foods for Valentines Day and I wanted to put this bread in it. It’s really good; have you had it?

Me: No, but I know what it is. I’m shopping to get some stuff for sandwiches. We’re making a new tradition of eating sandwiches after church on Sunday.

Student: (really excited) That’s great! My family did that! My mom doesn’t like to cook, so we always ate sandwiches on Sunday and then for dinner we had to eat whatever we could find. I love that!

(Continued conversation about sandwiches, Ezekiel bread, and Evelyn, whom I then introduced to the student.)

Well, the following is what Justin made after this exciting conversation. (I’m not exaggerating; I’m quite fond of this student because he reminds me so much of my brother.)

Turkey and Cranberry/Lingonberry Sandwiches with Curry Dressing

Curry Dressing:

1/4 C. mayonnaise

3/4 t. curry powder (You can make your own using this recipe here.)

1/8 t. salt

Stir together and set aside

Sandwich:

Firm texture wheat or multi-grain bread

12 oz. thinly sliced turkey

1/2 C. whole berry cranberry sauce or lingonberry sauce, if you keep Swedish food in the house

Chopped lettuce, watercress, or alfafa sprouts

I think you can figure out how to make a sandwich; this should make 4-6. You can also make double-decker sandwiches if you use 3 pieces of bread for each one.

And then this evening, with the leftover turkey and homemade sauerkraut, we made Turkey Reubens. You can find the recipe here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Fledderjohann permalink
    February 16, 2011 7:04 pm

    Matthew and I had Turkey Reuben sandwiches for lunch today. Yum! Thanks for the good idea.

  2. Kristen Moore permalink
    February 17, 2011 11:02 am

    Hiya Joy!
    I have been loving your blog! Keep up the great work and the photos. I also wanted to let you know that you can get Ezekiel bread at Meijer in the frozen section by the other vegan, gluten, Kasi items. I have been it there quite a few times.
    You can also get it at Horrock’s, where the most beautiful produce in GR resides (and the most reasonably priced as well).
    Happy Thursday!
    km.

    • Joy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 9:29 pm

      Oh…that makes sense. I’m a big fan of Horrock’s, too. They sell some local foods that are hard to find in one place elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

