Skip to content

How a Recipe Gets Almost Famous

February 24, 2011

Today’s post is about how I choose what recipe to put on this blog.

I’m posting about this because I’ve been having cooking problems lately. I never want to post a recipe that

1) didn’t work out for me or

2) I wouldn’t recommend.

Now, sometimes, recipes don’t work out because I did something wrong. Take last night’s lemon pepper popovers, for instance. They tasted great, but I don’t think I cooked them long enough. And, because I didn’t set the timer, I can’t say if it was because the recipe was wrong, my oven’s temperature is slightly below average, or I was wrong. (Evelyn did love them, by the way.)

And now several times I’ve made Glazed Red Pepper-Fennel Almonds. Every time I make these, while I’m mixing them up I think, “Oh, I should certainly blog about these.” But I don’t because they make such a huge mess when the sugar caramelizes all over the pan or the aluminum foil, which you then have to throw away, and I really try to make recipes that don’t have a lot of waste. I need to figure out a better way to make these.

Then there are the recipes that are pretty good but have one fatal flaw. For example, this recipe for macaroni and cheese I tried on Monday. It had so much butter in it–and not just for the sauce–poured over the bread crumb topping. It really didn’t make the flavor exceptionally better and I want to use my calories wisely. (Sorry–I can’t find a link to this one.)

And then, it’s been a month of two chilies at the Lawrence household. First, Justin made a recipe of Chile Con Carne from Bon Appetit’s February feature on chili in the United States. Then, I made a black bean butternut squash recipe of chili from the same feature. These chilies are enough to feed several small armies, so they were frozen and have been pulled out on a regular basis for dinners and lunches.

A lot of food, but not much blogging material.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

