Skip to content

Curried Cabbage

February 25, 2011

Curried cabbage is the first way I remember eating curry. It’s also the first way I ever remember eating (and liking) cabbage–aside from sauerkraut. In 1986, my family had ate at Mrs. Wilkes’ Boarding House (Now called Mrs. Wilkes’ Dining Room) in Savannah, GA. The food is Southern, is served family-style and is oh-so-good. You sit on benches, not chairs, and if your party is small, you’re likely to meet a few new friends who will be sitting with you.

My mother purchased the cookbook and made that cabbage. And when I first got married over ten years ago, I thought, “We’ll have cabbage” and I bought some cabbage, got the recipe from Mom, and made it.

This is a really easy recipe and, if you don’t like cabbage but enjoy curry, I’d recommend giving it a try. It goes well with most foods as a simple side dish–Southern or not. And, according to one nutritional philosophy, eating butter with cooked vegetables is good for you because “the fat-soluble vitamins…in butter are just what your body needs to fully utilize minerals in plant food.” (Sally Fallon, Nourishing Traditions, 367).

Curried Cabbage

2 T. butter

1 t. curry powder (Make your own using this recipe here.)

6 C. shredded cabbage

1 t. salt

Melt butter in a large skillet. Place the cabbage on top. Add curry and salt. Cook, covered, on medium heat for about five minutes or until tender. Add more salt and pepper when serving if taste desires. Makes about 4 servings.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Liz Fledderjohann permalink
    February 25, 2011 6:07 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this recipe. It’s still one of our favorites, I have cabbage, so I think I’ll make it again soon! Mom

Leave a Reply

