Skip to content

Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Bars

March 9, 2011

My new sister-in-law requested this recipe, so I thought it would be a good posting for today.

I got this recipe from Justin’s mother when we married. It’s one of his childhood favorites and we also enjoy it as adults. It is a treat, though, so I seldom make it.

Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Bars

In a large sauce pan, heat the following until dissolved. Do not over boil!

1 C. sugar

1 C. white (light) corn syrup

1/2 C. butter

To this mixture, add the following:

1 C. creamy or crunchy peanut butter

7-8 C. crisp rice cereal

Mix well. Spread into a buttered 13 by 9 pan. Immediately sprinkle with 1-2 C. chocolate chips. Cover for a few minutes to allow the chocolate to melt. Spread like frosting with a knife. Cool and cut into squares.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Fledderjohann permalink
    March 10, 2011 11:35 am

    Thanks Joy. I think I’ll make these for Matthew today.

  2. Kristen Moore permalink
    March 17, 2011 8:24 am

    Oooooh, Joy! I had forgotten about this recipe. So thanks for bringing it out in the open. They are so amazingly tasty!

  3. Kathryn Coulibaly permalink
    March 17, 2011 9:40 pm

    I will never get over my love affair with peanut butter. Thanks for a fun recipe I can use as an excuse to consume more!

    Kathy
    http://www.KidCulture.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

