Skip to content

An Irish Supper

March 17, 2011

St. Patrick’s Day is here. Hold onto your green hat.

Actually, it’s not a holiday that we particularly celebrate, though there are some traditional Irish foods I enjoy making. Soda bread is one of them. And tonight, since we didn’t have any corned beef (which I really do love) I tried a new recipe called “Cheese and Tomato Flan” from the “Ireland” section of Favorite Recipes from Europe. It is NOT, by any means, flan. It  is more like a milk-less quiche and I doctored the recipe up beyond recognition.

Last year I posted the recipe for Irish Soda Bread that I like. I made it again this year, and here’s a little slide show of the process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And here is the recipe I tried tonight. My additions are in italics so you can see the changes that I made.

Cheese and Tomato Flan that’s not Flan at all

Line a flan dish or sandwich tin with short crust pastry. Or line a pie pan with a homemade pie crust (using both butter and lard) and 1 t. celery seed.

Slice 3 or 4 tomatoes on bottom layer. If you do not have fresh tomatoes, stick a few frozen cherry tomatoes in the oven to roast for a bit. Then, spread these over the pie crust.

The tomatoes are already in the crust.

Put over these a layer of sliced red onion.

I used red onions.

Third layer is grated cheese. Goat cheese (crumbled, of course) is a good choice here.

I used goat cheese.

Season to taste with salt and pepper and some spoonfulls of oregano pesto.

Beat 2 (3) eggs and pour over ingredients in the dish.

Pouring the eggs on the completed "flan".

Bake 375 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Or when finished, which I found was much shorter than 1 1/2 hours. Tasty hot or cold. Serves 4-6.

And dinner is served...

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

