Skip to content

Creamy Pumpkin Soup

March 18, 2011

I know…I’ve posted another recipe recently for pumpkin soup. But if it’s winter and you got a lot of hard squash in the fall, you have to do something with it. And even though I do like pumpkin pie, soup makes a lot more sense nutritionally!

(The other recipe for pumpkin/squash soup I posted is Easy Butternut Squash Soup.)

I made this for some students a few weeks ago. It’s an easy soup and they enjoyed it tremendously. I got this recipe from a chef at a small-town fancy restaurant in the 1990’s where I worked as a waitress and learned about things like filet mignon and couscous that I had never eaten before. Working at that restaurant was my first outside-of-the-home culinary education. At home, I learned how to eat artichokes.

Creamy Pumpkin Soup

From the Octagon Restaurant in Ellendale, North Dakota

Saute 1 medium onion, chopped, with 2 T. butter.

Add the following: 2 14 oz. cans chicken broth, 2 C. sliced, peeled potatoes, 2 C. canned pumpkin (or pureed fresh pumpkin). Cook until the potatoes are tender.

Cool slightly and blend in a blender or with an immersion blender.

Return to the pan (if you used a blender) and add: 2 1/2 C. milk, 1/2 t. grated nutmeg, 1/2 t. salt, 1/4 t. pepper.

The soup is ready. You may garnish it with spoonfulls of  1 C. sour cream and 1 T. chopped parsley, mixed together and 3 strips cooked, crumbled bacon if you are not vegetarian.

This serves 4-6, depending on if it is the main or first course.

 

Leave a Reply

