Skip to content

Mushroom and Bacon Frittata with Roasted Tomatoes

March 20, 2011

Well, this isn’t exactly a pie, but you do cut it into wedges, so it sort-of counts.

(On a side note, sorry for my lack of photos lately…my loving spouse reminded me how much my blog needed photos. I agree; it needs photos. But this is what happens. I cook in the late afternoon while Evelyn is eating dinner #1 which is often several of the following: puffs, frozen organic peas, squares of white cheddar, and maybe a carrot or celery stick. Focusing on photography, cooking AND re-filling Evelyn’s tray is pretty much neigh impossible if I want to remember to put in all the ingredients while keeping Miss E from waking the neighbours and/or ruining my eardrums.)

Plus, the Joy of Cooking sold one gazillion copies in all its editions and it doesn’t have a single photograph in almost 1,200 pages. And my name is Joy. See the connection?

Anyway, today’s recipe is not a pie and I have no photograph of it.

But it is so yummy. And you can click here to read the recipe. A note about my own substitutions: I used normal mushrooms, not anything fancy, and it was still good. I also didn’t have any Dijon mustard so I used chipotle mustard. (And, for those of you interested in seasonal foods, I used frozen grape tomatoes and roasted those. It worked like a charm! It was a taste of summer in late winter.) And, of course, I didn’t have fresh basil, so I used about 1 1/2 t. of dried basil. Nor did I have shallots, so I used onions.

Basically, I made up my own recipe. But don’t we all everyday?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

