Skip to content

Chocolate Cinnamon Buns

April 12, 2011

And…I’m back!

Dear Readers,

I do apologize for my long absence from the blogging sphere. My family had an opportunity to go with a group of Calvin students on a spring break service-learning trip to Koinonia Farm in Americus Georgia the last week of March. While there, we had opportunities to work on the farm pruning grape vines and mulching blueberry bushes, to eat communally with the community and our group, and to spend a good amount of time away from our computers. (I did bring mine to do a little work, but that was all.)

It was wonderful. While on the farm, I read Radical Homemakers, a book that features well-educated, socially-minded people who choose to work (as in outside of the home) less in order to work inside the home–and outside in the garden and with the chickens and for local justice issues–more. I was thusly inspired and have wondered where food blogging fits into all of these things. I am not sure. In the meantime, I have been publicizing Calvin Theatre Company’s spring production of Hamlet (you can read about it here and buy tickets here , doing some freelance writing work, rehearsing with an improv team, making a birthday present for Evelyn, and taking care of Evelyn.

Evelyn at Koinonia Farm

So that is why you have not heard from me.

But today is Baking on Tuesday and I wanted to share a recipe I made this past Saturday. It is Chocolate Cinnamon Buns from an issue of Canadian Living that I read while living in Canada.

I am not going to paste the recipe here; you can use the link above, but it is oh-so-tremendous and delicious. I think cinnamon rolls are perfect to make on Saturday and eat on Sunday, especially if you’re going to church and want to have something special but already-prepared.

Oh, and I used pecans from Koinonia Farm that we purchased while there. Buying Koinonia Farm supports their work and while providing your pantry with high-quality pecans!

Pecan Orchard at Koinonia Farm

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 9:16 am

    Could you do a review of Radical Homemakers? I’d love to hear more…

Leave a Reply

