Skip to content

Easter Cakes in Black and White

April 26, 2011

Justin & I shared Easter dinner with my family on Sunday. Mom made the ham; I made the cakes.

I had a lot of fun choosing two contrasting recipes. Within our family, we have a high cholesterol, a lactose intolerance and a severe walnut allergy. I knew I needed to stay away from walnuts and that at least one cake needed to have little or no dairy and one needed to be fairly low cholesterol. It was obvious to make these the same cakes.

So, I made a (mostly) vegan Devil’s Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Mousse  (click the title to go to the link) from the October 2008 issue of Vegetarian Times. This is a great and interesting cake. Most interestingly, the peanut butter mousse is a combination of peanut butter, tofu, sugar, and vanilla extract. It is delicious. But I cheated. I did not make the icing vegan. I substituted 1/2 C. butter for the vegetable shortening it called for. Thus, the icing was a little runny. I think next time, I won’t substitute!

That was the black cake.

The white cake was Coconut-Mint Cream Cake  from the October 2008 edition of Bon Appetit. (Click the title of the recipe to go to the link.) For family members who opted for “a little bit of both,” it was the winner, but the deck was stacked. A can of coconut cream blended with a can of sweetened condensed milk is poured over the layers before they’re frosted with a mint-infused whipped cream. How could anything beat this? Especially a vegan cake. No offense, but cakes are better with eggs. However the vegan cake is STILL good, so don’t let me talk you out of trying it–especially if you’re vegan or lactose intolerant or just want to try a lower-calorie cake.

Sure, Easter day is over, but the Easter celebration can continue! Bake a cake today!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda Fledderjohann permalink
    April 27, 2011 10:23 am

    Thanks for leaving the walnuts out of dessert. Matthew enjoyed leftover coconut mint cream cake last night and I stole a bite. Both cakes were great!

Leave a Reply

