Skip to content

Scrambled Tofu with Tortillas

May 23, 2011

This is better than it sounds. But before I get down to business, and go on as if I have been blogging all the time like an insanely wonderful woman, I want to let you know that I have not been too inspired in the kitchen lately. I have been spending a lot of time out-of-doors in the garden, digging around and looking at our earth.

Time indoors these days is spent working on a play, picking up toys, and hanging out one load of laundry a day. (Well, technically, that’s also outside and, yes, my laundry harvests both solar and wind power. You can harvest it, too, for free!)

I also made this (mostly) awesome quiet book for Evelyn’s first birthday, and that kept me quite quietly busy. I did not finish it in time for her birthday and yes, it does keep her quiet. She especially enjoys chewing on the Velcro.

Today’s Meatless Monday recipe is a vegan version of huevos rancheros, the breakfast dish made with eggs, tortillas, and salsa. (It’s yummy!) You can also eat it for lunch or dinner.

I tried this version from my Vegetarian Times cookbook.

I got my used copy years ago at the Powells Books in Portland, Oregon, and I’ve only been moderately happy (5 out of 10 stars, if you’re counting stars) with it because many of the recipes call for ingredients on opposite ends of the seasonal calendar. This is an old cookbook, though (1995) and maybe newer editions pay more attention to the seasonality of ingredients.

Scrambled Tofu with Tortillas

1 T. olive oil

1 medium onion, finely chopped

6 corn tortillas, torn or cut into 1-inch pieces

3 plum tomatoes, diced AND 1 14-oz. can crushed tomatoes or tomato puree OR 1 quart diced tomatoes (If you do your own canning.)

1 lb. firm tofu, drained and diced

1/2 t. ground cumin

1/2 t. dried oregano

salt to taste

1 C. grated cheddar cheese

prepared salsa (optional)

sour cream (optional)

Heat the oil in a large skillet. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until lightly golden. Add the remaining ingredients except the cheese and salsa, cover and cook over medium heat for 10 minutes. Sprinkle with the grated cheese, cover and cook over low heat 5 minutes more. Serve as is or top with salsa and/or sour cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

