Skip to content

Some of my favorite things to bake…

May 24, 2011

I keep a pile of recipes I’ve tried and want to blog about it. The pile is rather large–maybe 20 recipes at this point (and growing) and I know that I need to write about several things at once in order to do it justice. So, today’s post is a brief overview of some of my favorite recipes to bake. These are go-to recipes for me and they usually stay unfiled for months because I keep them over the sink and use them often.

Yeast Bread

My all-time favorite way to make bread is Jim Lahey’s no-knead, long rise method I wrote about on this post here.  You do not need any special equipment besides a covered casserole dish and the bread is top-notch quality. You’d be paying upwards of $5.00 for a loaf like this from the store.

This is the easiest--and most impressive--yeast bread you can make.

But sometimes, I get a yen to make kneaded yeast bread. Two of my favorite recipes for that include Thirded Bread made with wheat, rye, and corn. You can find the recipe here. When I gave some to one of my friends, he said “I’d pay money for this bread!” I think that’s a terrific compliment.

If you have a bread making machine, you can bake Buttermilk Flaxseed Bread (recipe here.) I have been making this recipe for years and love it. Don’t have buttermilk? That’s OK–you can easily substitute yogurt with a little milk in it to water it down.

Cornbread

I grew up eating cornbread. Often, Mom would make it to go with vegetable beef soup and it wouldn’t be completely cooked (4 young children will do that–I understand now) and I loved the gooey uncooked cornbread in the center of the pan. Not so much anymore–I make sure mine is completely cooked. The best way to make cornbread–no matter your recipe–is to stick a greased (bacon fat or butter) cast iron skillet in the oven while it preheats and you mix up the batter. When the batter is mixed and the oven has reached its desired temperature, pull out the pan and pour the batter in. It makes a delicious crust!

Some of my favorite cornbread recipes include Cheddar Corn Bread (click here for the recipe) and Caveman Cornbread, which I wrote about here in February. (It makes a lot–that’s why it’s called “Caveman Cornbread.”)

Soda Bread

And as a nod to our Irish President O’Bama and his recent trip to Ireland, I’ll mention my favorite recipe for Irish Soda Bread that I wrote about last year (here). I’ve also tried this other version (here), but my note to myself says that the first recipe is better. So…if you’ve a yen to taste test, try both and let me know if you think I’m right or wrong.

Baking season, however, is almost over. If it gets hot enough to turn our air on, I hate to counter-act that with the oven! (Sometimes, an outdoor kitchen sounds wonderful, doesn’t it?)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

