Skip to content

Slow Cooker Time! Mexican Pot Roast

February 18, 2012

I have very fond childhood memories of eating pot roast on Sunday afternoons. My mother makes excellent pot roast, which (I believe) is the same recipe my grandmama used. Both included carrots, potatoes, and onions which surrounded a roast in an enameled pan. Hot roast with rolls, green beans, and some kind of fancy Jello salad take me back to the early 1980’s and cold Georgia winter afternoons outside in an unbuttoned coat.

I make a lot of roasts in the slow cooker, but not often for Sundays. We’re a week-night roast family and a Sunday leftover (or sandwich) family and I’ve become OK with that. Here’s the favorite pot roast recipe I use, though I think that nothing can beat my mother and grandmother’s recipe. (I’ll try to share that soon, but I think I don’t even have it!)

Mexican Pot Roast

2 T. olive oil

4-5 lb. beef pot roast

1 medium onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 can (16 oz.) chopped tomatoes

2 bay leaves

1/2 t. thyme

1 C. fresh sliced mushrooms or canned mushrooms (optional)

1 C. white wine (optional)

Heat olive oil in a skillet. Sprinkle roast with salt and pepper and brown well on all sides. Remove from skillet and set aside. Place remaining ingredients in the slow cooker and stir. Add browned roast; set cooker on low and cook for 8-10 hours. Roast is done when meat is tender enough to be cut with a fork.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

