Skip to content

Squashed Pumpkin Soups (and other ideas)

February 15, 2013

Or just regular pumpkins…or any winter squash.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/bd/Squashes.jpg

wikipedia commons, Creative Commons license
photo by Californiacondor, 2006

Maybe you are part of a winter produce share, like we are. (Nourish Organic Market in Grand Rapids has a terrific winter share that we’re receiving…we get 1-2 little squashes a week plus other produce, like these teeny tiny heads of lettuce from Vertical Paradise Farms.) Squash is a mixed blessing in our family. When I said, “Would you like parsley pesto pasta or a pasta with squash for Valentine’s Day?” my husband replied, “Squash is not at all celebratory.”

Ok, then. We had the parsley pesto pasta.

But I like squash and we manage to get a lot of it. A few years ago, I shared some seeds for an heirloom variety of butternut squash with my mother. She shared it with my sister out in rural Iowa who still has volunteers coming up every year, even though she stopped planting them. She said she had over 50 squash volunteer this year. She’s feeding them to her chickens, and oh my goodness, are those yolks orange!.

If you have 50 or  volunteer squash or just 1 pumpkin you bought at the supermarket, consider trying one of the following recipes I’ve previously posted:

Butternut Squash Salad

Butternut Squash Soup

Pumpkin Breads (Cider Pumpkin bread, for one) and Cakes

Bean & Hominy Potpie (with butternut squash inside)

Walnut Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin & Black Bean Chili

Creamy Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin Muffins AND Pineapple Pumpkin Muffins

Spiced Pumpkin Pecan Butter

I frequently substitute pumpkin for squash and vice-versa.

I also enjoy pumpkin stew…here’s a Better Homes & Gardens recipe I’ve made numerous times called Pumpkin Cider Stew. It recommends serving the stew in miniature bowls made out of pumpkins, but I don’t go for that. We already have bowls & there’s enough pumpkin in this recipe already. (This is a DELICIOUS stew. I highly recommend it. Click here to get the recipe.)

Last week, I made a Pumpkin-Leek Soup (click here for the recipe) from Real Simple October 2007. I used some turkey stock that had been in the freezer and it made the soup really strong, but the texture was good. You could also substitute vegetable stock if you want a vegetarian soup.

What do you like to do with winter squash?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2013 6:34 pm

    I just finished cooking my way through my CSA squashes. When I first started, the thought of squash soup wasn’t that appealing but I’ve learned squashes I love, and different techniques for many of them. Delicatas are my favorite roasted with a bit of chili powder; I love any squash puree with black beans. Overall I learned that squashes have an incredibly satisfying stomach warming property unlike any other vegetable I’ve ever tried.
    Here is a link to some of the recipes I tried: http://thehealthyproject.wordpress.com/category/squash-challenge/

    Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

